Queensryche: American Soldier cover

  1. Sliver
  2. Unafraid
  3. Hundred Mile Stare
  4. At 30,000 Ft
  5. A Dead Man's Words
  6. The Killer
  7. The Middle Of Hell
  8. If I Were King
  9. Man Down!
  10. Remember Me
  11. Home Again
  12. The Voice

Verdict: 9

QUEENSRYCHE is a strange Seattle band. They missed out on the grunge and forged a unique style of their own.

The early albums by this band were all no less than grand but they lost that somewhere along the road. It even seemed like they never would make a descent album ever again.

Queensryche have made masterpieces and mixed it with pure garbage.

"Operation MindCrime II" hit like a bomb and all of a sudden there were hope once more. They even played a lot of the older material live again.

Then QUEENSRYCHE somewhat surprisingly released the really shitty cover album "Take Cover". An album with only one decent track. Far below par for a group that had written songs like "Empire", "NM156", "Revolution Calling", "Eyes of a Stranger".

So what are QUEENSRYCHE up to with "American Soldier"? Is it another great album?

The answer is YES!

"American Soldier" is an ambitious theme album along the veins of "Operation MindCrime". This time around QUEENSRYCHE have conducted hundreds of interviews with US military vets and drawn inspiration from their experiences.

The music is really sounding great! This really is QUEENSRYCHE as good as they ever have been. It is big, it is rocking, the songs are better, it is interesting and enigmatic.

We listen, we like it and listen again, again and again.

Geoff Tate seem to be a lot more creative when there is a big task at hand. You must throw in a million hours of interview material and force Geoff Tate to write matching lyrics. That's when things happen for QUEENSRYCHE.

Queensryche American Soldier cover

Listen up QUEENSRYCHE are back!